Chicago Resources

Chicago-Specific Job Search Websites

www.chicagojobs.com

www.chicagotribune.com/classified/jobs

www.chicagojobresource.com

www.jobsinchicago.com

 

Targeting Companies in Chicago

On the following page you’ll find a list of employers headquartered in Chicago and other major Chicago companies.  If you’d like to create a more targeted list of Chicago-specific companies based on your career interests, use the following tips and resources.

 

Connecting with Wake Forest Alumni

On the following page you’ll find a list of companies where recent WFU Alumni have landed jobs (2004-2011 grads).  Use the following tips and resources to locate and connect with alumni in your career field of interest.

 

Chicago Housing Locators

www.chicagohomefinder.com

www.chicagotribune.com/classified/realestate/

www.apartments-in-chicago.com

chicago.craigslist.org

ApartmentList.com/il/chicago

Major Chicago Companies

The following list of companies reflects national or    international companies headquartered in Chicago, local companies, and boutique firms with offices in Chicago.

Major/Local Employers

Abbott Laboratories   www.abbott.com

Accenture   www.accenture.com

Allstate   www.allstate.com

American Airlines   www.aa.com

Aon Hewitt   www.aonhewitt.com

Chase   www.chase.com

Jewel-Osco   www.jewelosco.com

Kraft Foods   www.kraftfoods.com

Motorola   www.motorola.com

Quaker Oats   www.quakeroats.com

Sears, Roebuck & Co   www.sears.com

United Airlines   www.united.com

Walgreens   www.walgreens.com

 

Advertising, Marketing, and Public Relations

Burson-Marsteller   www.burson-marsteller.com

Cramer Krasselt   www.c-k.com

DDB Worldwide   www.ddb.com

Draftfcb   www.draftfcb.com

Edelman Public Relations   www.edelman.com

Golin Harris   www.golinharris.com

Leo Burnett   www.leoburnett.com

MWW Group   www.mww.com

RuderFinn   www.ruderfinn.com

 

Financial Institutions

Harris Bank   www.harrisbank.com

Northern Trust   www.northerntrust.com

William Blair & Co   www.williamblair.com

Law Firms

DLA Piper   www.dlapiper.com

Jenner & Block   www.jenner.com

Katten Muchin Rosenman   www.kattenlaw.com

Kirkland & Ellis   www.kirkland.com

Mayer Brown   www.mayerbrown.com

Schiff Hardin   www.schiffhardin.com

Sidley Austin   www.sidley.com

Winston & Strawn   www.winston.com

 

Media

Chicago Sun-Times   www.suntimes.com

Chicago Tribune   www.chicagotribune.com

Chicago Public Radio   www.wbez.org/

WBBM (CBS)  http://cbs2chicago.com

WFLD (FOX)   www.myfoxchicago.com

WLS (ABC)  http://abclocal.go.com/wls/

WMAQ (NBC)   www.nbcchicago.com

WTTW (PBS)   www.wttw.com

 

Nonprofit

Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Chicago   www.catholiccharities.net

Chicago NonProfits   www.npo.net

Jewish United Fund   www.juf.org

LifeSource Blood Services   www.lifesource.org

YMCA of Metropolitan Chicago   www.ymcachgo.org

 

Where WFU Alumni Work in Chicago

The following list is a sampling of companies where recent WFU Alumni have landed jobs from 2004-2011.

Abbott Laboratories

Aon Hewitt

Bank One

Center for Campus Free Speech

Chicago Board Options Exchange

Chicago Public Schools

Diamond Headache Clinic

Ernst & Young

Grubb & Ellis Company (real estate)

KPMG

Lincoln Partners

Luxury Portfolio

McMaster Carr

Milliman USA

MK Communications

Royal Bank

Sidley Austin (legal)

Time Out Magazine

Travelzoo.com

United Airlines