Washington, D.C.

Washington, DC-Specific Job Search Websites

www.dcjobsource.com

www.usajobs.gov/

www.hillzoo.com

www.rcjobs.com

www.politemps.com

www.washingtonnetworkgroup.com

 

Targeting Companies in Washington, DC

On the following page you’ll find a list of employers headquartered in DC and other major DC companies.  If you’d like to create a more targeted list of DC-specific companies based on your career interests, use the following tips and resources.

 

Connecting with Wake Forest Alumni

On the following page you’ll find a list of companies where recent WFU Alumni have landed jobs (2004-2011 grads).  Use the following tips and resources to locate and connect with alumni in your career field of interest.

 

Washington, DC Housing Locators

washingtondc.craigslist.org/

www.dcregistry.com/housing.html

www.washingtondc.com

ApartmentList.com/dc/washington

Major Washington, DC Companies

The following list of companies reflects national or international companies headquartered in DC, local companies, and boutique firms with offices in DC.

Major/Local Employers

America Online   www.corp.aol.com

Amtrak   www.amtrak.com

Danaher   www.danaher.com

Fannie Mae   www.fanniemae.com

Sallie Mae   www.salliemae.com

Smithsonian Institution   www.si.edu

United States Government   www.usajobs.opm.gov

Advertising, Marketing, and Public Relations

APCO Worldwide   www.apcoworldwide.com

Williams Whittle Associates   www.williamswhittle.com

Associations

AARP   www.aarp.org

American Chemical Society   www.chemistry.org

American Diabetes Association   www.diabetes.org

American Psychological Association   www.apa.org

National Education Association   www.nea.org

Consulting Firms

The Advisory Board Company   www.advisoryboardcompany.com

AKRON, Inc.   www.akroninc.net

Booz Allen Hamilton   www.boozallen.com

Corporate Executive Board   www.executiveboard.com

Dante Consulting   www.danteconsulting.com

Deloitte Consulting   www.deloitte.com/us

Grant Street Communications   www.grantstreet.com

Navigant Consulting   www.navigant.com

Public Affairs Council   http://pac.org

Towers Watson   www.towerswatson.com

Turner Consulting Group   www.tcg.com

 

Law Firms

Arnold & Porter   www.arnoldporter.com

Covington & Burling   www.cov.com

Hogan Lovells   www.hoganlovells.com

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman   www.pillsburylaw.com

Steptoe & Johnson   www.steptoe.com

Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr   www.wilmerhale.com

 

Financial

Capital One   www.capitalone.com

Carlyle Group   www.carlyle.com

E*Trade Bank   www.etradebank.com

 

Media

Black Entertainment Television   www.bet.com

C-Span   www.c-span.org

Discovery Communications   www.discovery.com

Gannett   www.gannett.com

National Public Radio   www.npr.org

Public Broadcasting System   www.pbs.org

Radio One   www.radio-one.com

The Washington Post   www.washingtonpost.com

XM Satellite Radio   www.xmradio.com

 

Nonprofits

American National Red Cross   www.redcross.org

National Gallery of Art   www.nga.gov

National Geographic Society   www.nationalgeographic.com

Nature Conservancy   www.nature.org

Smithsonian Institute   www.si.edu

The World Bank   www.worldbank.org

 

Washington, DC Staffing Agencies

Banner Staffing   www.bannerstaffing.net

  • Administrative, IT

Employment Enterprises   www.eeihr.com

Staffing Now: Friends & Company   http://www.staffingnow.com/friends-company/

  • HTML web publishing, editing/proofreading, data entry, telemarketing, customer service

Hire Standard Staffing   www.hirestandard.com

  • Accounting, administrative, executive assistants, finance, government, HR, law/paralegal, marketing, property management

Hire Strategy   www.hirestrategy.com

  • Technology, sales, finance, accounting, administrative

Kaseman Corp   www.kaseman.com

  • Government contractor that provides staffing support in a variety of career fields

KForce Professional Staffing   www.kforce.com

NRI Staffing Resources   www.nri-staffing.com

  • Accounting, healthcare, legal, administrative

PoliTemps   www.politemps.com

  • Legislative, government, political, consulting, public relations, non-profits, lobbying

Quotient   www.quotient-inc.com

  • IT, telecommunications professionals in the technical and government sectors

Randstad   www.us.randstad.com

Spherion   www.spherion.com

Ultimate Staffing Services   www.ultimatestaffing.com

  • Accounting, finance, creative, office services, IT, professional

Walton-Thomas International   www.waltonthomas.com

  • Conference support, staffing services, bilingual assistance, graphic design

 

Note: The Office of Personal & Career Development does not endorse any of these organizations.

 

Where WFU Alumni Work in DC

The following list is a sampling of companies where recent WFU Alumni have landed jobs from 2004-2011.

Advisory Board Company

Allergy Specialist Office

Cambridge Associates

Corporate Executive Board

DC Energy

Deloitte Consulting

Edelman Public Relations

Embassy of Japan

Enterprise Rent-A-Car

Environment America

Environmental Defense Fund

Fleishman-Hillard Public Relations

Fox Networks Group/National Geographic Channel

General Services Administration

INTERPOL Operations & Command Center

Navigant Consulting

Office of Inspector General

PNC Capital Markets

The Washington Center

U.S. Army